Life is Too Long

Where are you? I cannot find you. I look for you in the kitchen, in the bathroom. Maybe you’re at work. No, this is not a house we ever shared.

Where are you? Why have you gone? Now that you are no longer here does it mean everything is lost?

Minutes ago you were here, just across the table, we were playing cards. You were drinking tea and complaining how terrible your hand was. But you are not there, and never were.

You are far away in space and already moving away from me in time. Your messages slip down my phone. You are gone.

You are still here. I am talking to you, telling you this, my idea for a story.

You are gone. ‘Life is so short,’ you would say, ‘why are we wasting it?’

But you were wrong.

Life is too long.

Leave a Reply

